Poets logo

The Topsy Turvey Men

a dream

By Ward NorcuttPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
Top Story - January 2023
120
The Topsy Turvey Men
Photo by Hayley Murray on Unsplash

They sally-sauntered

and jiggy-jauntered

over the cobbled stone

of the archy, bridgy,

oily, smidgy

pathway to its throne

*

Their spider arms

and spider legs

gangle-loped along

Their fingers stretching

voices retching

their curvy-swervy song:

*

“We live to find you

catch you, bind you

bring you to our king

We’ll nevermind you

as we grind you

child to a thing

*

A thing like us

you’ll never fuss

at meals or at bed

We’ll suck your brain

and slowly drain

the you from in your head.”

*

Below them in the moat

they crossed

all trunks and tusks and teeth

swam elephants

that kept the guard

from danger from beneath

*

They never did

come up for air

they seemed to have no need

as they serpentined

a hundred strong

each one a Ganymede

*

The topsy-turvy men

they lolled their way

each one a mindless knight

past the gate

to seal the fate

of dreamers in the night

*

For when they reached

their greedy king

and learned of its demand

they’d go back out

and have no doubt

they'd scour all the land

*

They’d zigzag here

and trundle there

to find that special child

caught in a dream

a frozen scream

lost in a slumber wild

*

Their evil eyes

would mesmerize

and hook you like a fish

They’d take you back

trussed in a sack

and serve you on a dish

*

To the king

with blood for eyes

a monster without sight

but then again

it had its men

to sate its appetite

*

They reached their king

that beastly thing

and each one bowed his head

a dangly angle

all a gangle

although all four were dead

*

They held their heads

from fingery threads

that oozed and stretched a hex

Like puppeteers

they grabbed their ears

and plunked them on their necks

*

So satisfied

it almost cried

it howled and screeched its glee

From its gaping maw

that festered raw

it bid them hunt for me

*

And just like you

I had no clue

for I was sleeping sound

far from dread

tucked in my bed

six feet above the ground

*

But where I lay

my soul to stay

it simply mattered not

The turvey men

would ne’er rest again

‘til after I was caught

*

As one they turned

their hunger burned

it drooled from their eyes

And in their stare

their only care:

tonight the child dies!

*

They picked up speed

desire and need

drove them ever faster

It must be found

for they were bound

to please their evil master

*

Bound by bound

they left the ground

with each massive stride

a thousand feet

two thousand more

they’d curvy-swervy glide

*

Over rock and mound

until they found

their special midnight child

Soon I would be

no longer me

but in a nightmare wild

*

In my dream I saw them come

I pleaded to my dad and mom

“There they are! Behind you! There!”

but they both seemed not to care

“That couldn’t be, no not at all,”

they said, “no one could be that tall.”

And so they never turned to see

the turvey men, all ten-foot-three

through the window point at me

and finger slice their necks with glee

Mom and dad turned back to eat

and I was frozen in my seat

I tried to run, to move, to scream

but just like things do in a dream

I found that I was stuck, could not

say a word, already caught

*

It was then all four

curved round the door

and reached for me to seal my grisly fate

There was no place to run, to hide,

but luck, it seems, was on my side;

my careless father dropped his dinner plate

*

And I awoke

It’s true, no joke,

safe and sound from harm I was delivered

For a noise I heard that night

saved me from that gruesome plight

I clutched my pillow tight and willy-shivered

*

I don’t know what became of them

the evil topsy-turvey men

who served an even worser monster king

But in their eyes I still can see

the gluttony and lust for me

and hear the curvy song they used to sing

performance poetry
120

About the Creator

Ward Norcutt

Playwright and poet.

My goal as a writer is to write thoughtful pieces of prose, poetry and stage plays. Hopefully, the end results are entertaining and engaging, with layers of meaning that make sense to the whole or a theme therein.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (59)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    This is brilliant, half Lewis Carroll and half where the wild things are, and so visceral.

  • A. Lenae8 months ago

    I would both love and be horrified to see this brought to life. You have created something completely your own, so brilliant, and with a perfect pace and a haunting sing-song tone. What magnificent writing. So happy you won with this!

  • Mia Tolles9 months ago

    I can't seem to stop myself from coming back to this excellent piece of writing to read it over again. Truly a masterful work of art!

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Wow! this was obviously a memorable dream that you had. You transferred the creepy encounter very well to the readers minds. I would love to see an artist rendition of what they looked like. Not sure what I was doing at the time when this entry won because I remember the challenge well. Happy belated congrats! And great interview with Rick.

  • Pankaj Kumar12 months ago

    this poem has a flow of a boat travelling in the night and each line is like a new wave.

  • Ann G.about a year ago

    Congratulations!!

  • Alison McBainabout a year ago

    Congrats, Ward! The perfect balance of fun and creepy.

  • Katy Doran-McNamaraabout a year ago

    Congratulations! I hope this was meant to be the creepy, scary fun thing I experienced, because that is just what it is AND the wonderful stuff that causes children to sleep with their lights on. Delicious fright-made-right, thanks to dad's dropped dinner plate! Oh, and the tongue-twisting made-up words are ever more descriptive than anything found in Webster's. LOVE the whole thing!

  • Mark Emilyabout a year ago

    It was a really good story. You can visit my profile for similar stories.

  • Ktabout a year ago

    This is SUCH an enjoyable read! Playful and evocative! I love every word. Thank you for sharing your spectacular gift! A very well deserved win!

  • Roshawnabout a year ago

    I love the flow it has. well DESERVED😁

  • Lucy Smithabout a year ago

    Quite the dream - an effective metaphor for political life. Great job. Roger Smith

  • Lilly Cooperabout a year ago

    A really great story! Congratulations on your win!

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    This is wonderful! Congrats on the win!

  • Megabout a year ago

    This is brilliant! Congratulations!

  • Jasper Wolfabout a year ago

    Wow. Wanted to see who beat me and what they wrote. Truly deserved. It's fantastic

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    congratulations !

  • Holly Draperabout a year ago

    I heard this in my head as a sea shanty, and I’m in love with it. Congrats! This is awesome!

  • Amy Writesabout a year ago

    This was an amazing poem! Congrats on your win! It was so well deserved. This was one of the best pieces I've read on Vocal.

  • River Joyabout a year ago

    I already commented on this, but I feel like I have to recommend reading this out loud. I was telling a friend of how deserved this win was and it read it out loud to them and it really did feel like I knew it already. Like the topsy turvy men already existed in the back of my brain as a fear. This poem has been haunting me in the most viscerally beautiful way. Thank you for this exquisite piece. I think I might pull it out around the campfire sometime if that's alright.

  • Stefany Scalesabout a year ago

    I like!!

  • VIDHYASAGARabout a year ago

    Woww amazing congratulations for wom the 1 St price $1000 🤩🤩💝🔥✨💞

  • Janice Dailyabout a year ago

    Wow!

  • A. M. Barrettabout a year ago

    Great writing that effectively creates a sens of unease and dread. The imagery of the "topsy-turvy men" and their "evil eyes" is particularly striking and memorable. The way the poem builds tension and suspense through its use of language is impressive.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.