Poets logo

The Three

-

By Verity GreenePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Three
Photo by Hans Eiskonen on Unsplash

//Lobotomized

I cannot write-

my thoughts have run dry,

the hollowness numbs me

The ghouls no longer pick & prick

at my mind, they stay hidden

I feel blind.

The notions I search for

are long lost friends.

They leave me wondering

if I'll ever see again-

see the rough, stitched and rusted,

far better than this inertia-

than this constant state of desertion.

// Stitched Up

Stitched up knees

washed clean, made pretty

after having laid in rust

and adorned so pettily.

After numerous long years

ready to be used again-

but will the joints creak?

will they rotate properly?

or will they fail me again-

rendering it too late

to finally live the day.

// Self Doubt

A single thought

sits on my shoulder-

it grips tightly, thru skin to bone

afraid to fall - its grip is iron

and its will stronger still.

It wants my will,

strives on my lows-

it will keep me company,

won't ever let me go.

//Strength in Perseverance

She said

"one notch per achievement"

but did not specify how-

I sit and wait and stare

at the blank wall before me

but can never see a notch...

what is the use of it all?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Verity Greene

I love writing dark fantasy/ imagery poetry.

instagram.com/flawed.changeling

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.