Poets logo

The Tempest

The Storm That is Life

By Whitney RodenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

"Too much heartbreak in too little time"

This, it seems, is our melancholy rhyme

In the last four months we have endured

More than anyone ever should

From the blazing inferno that was once our home

To our friends and family that now seem to roam

It's a howling tempest outside our door

One the likes of which we've never seen before

"Hope for the best, prepare for the worst"

Has become our chant through this dreadful curse

The only thing getting us through each day

Is knowing it can't always be this way

So, batten the hatches and lock the doors

We're trying our damnedest for hope's rocky shores

But if we perish along the way

"At least we tried" is all I can say

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Whitney Roden

My name is Whitney and I have been an avid reader since I was 3. I am currently going to school to be an educator for elementary and collaborative students. I am also a painter and photographer. I hope you enjoy reading my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.