Poets logo

The Star-Crossed Lovers

A Western Love Poem

By Caitlin KubitzPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
The Star-Crossed Lovers
Photo by Gautier Salles on Unsplash

Broad yet slender were the shoulders from which her midnight tresses flowed to and fro.

Heads canted her steady gaze

On she walked in a daze

Down the creakin’ wooden sidewalk

Copper was the color of her soul

Although, I was rendered dumb

A bag of nails

A’strucken with that arrow

By that little fellow, hips a narrow

Our eyes meet finally

A feeling brings me to my knees

I build my world around

Her heavenly essence

I’ll venture the big Wild West

For just a glimpse of the best thing that

God has ever breathed life into.

She has given me life

Together we reminisce and

Giggle at the strife

We’ve carried on over and over

We’re older and settled

Our children are high-mettled and

Humble after a lifetime of adoration

Crack!

Goes the whip

Tired Appys neigh

Men are caterwauling in the streets

She walks almost right through me

Not a second thought

Foolish me

I lose her figure in the mocking crowds and

They saunter lonely jigs

It be your own mind wanting to steal the stars from the sky

But what a love to have never loved

-CKK

love poems
2

About the Creator

Caitlin Kubitz

Hi there!

Just an awkward person trying to adjust to adulthood. I'm a wife, a friend, and a dog mom. I am interested in writing Western fiction.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.