Poets logo

The Stand-In

September 2020

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Stand-In
Photo by Barry Weatherall on Unsplash

I'm not your woman and never will be.

I'm just the overqualified warm body

that you keep on the sidelines.

I'm a place filler that you can use

as a backup plan for now

while you're biding your time.

You'd never let me wear your jersey,

at least not in public, I was just

there for you to practice & run some drills.

I'm convenient and slightly better than nothing,

watching you scout for real talent

but hoping for my chance still.

I'm training day and night,

working my ass off to please you,

while you're out looking for your MVP.

I've been riding the bench for years, eagerly waiting,

and you never put me in the game,

but you sure did play me.

As much as my heart aches,

I really can't blame you

because you never attempted to deceive.

You never led me on to think

I was anything more than

something you could take or leave.

I'm the cum dumpster you keep on standby,

not your love interest or even friend,

but I keep trying to blur the line.

This is just a rehearsal,

and I'm the stand-in until you find someone

you think is actually worth your time.

You keep me hidden behind the curtain

in the shadows of the set,

being sure to keep me out of public sight.

I'm trying to make you happy daily

while you're trying to look for

a leading lady you can put in the spotlight.

I'm wasting my time trying to win

Best Supporting Actress, dreaming that one day

the marquee will say Shashika Nicole.

But I'm an extra at best,

I just keep stepping out of my place,

hoping to make it a speaking role.

As much as it hurts, as many tears as I've cried,

I can't really blame you

because you never intended to deceive.

You never set out to make me think

that this was ever anything real,

that's just what I chose to believe.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.