Poets logo

The shadow of my love

11.02.21

By GNZ11 Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The shadow of my love
Photo by Hayley Catherine on Unsplash

The shadow of my love

It lurks underneath,

Your existence, without me,

Without the pain, without the laughter

I roam endlessly,

Chasing a figment of my imagination,

Exploiting the love you gave

Vicarious as I can be,

I didn’t mean to kill you,

Slowly but passionately,

with a love that you refused to see

The shadow of my love

It lurks underneath,

Under the sheets that now caress your body,

Without me, without the pain,

You laugh, and I cannot help but see

Vicarious as I can be,

reliving our love under those same sheets

As a shadow,

Once there but now a fading memory

You look down, and see him but not me,

Slowly, but passionately

With all of the pain, you laugh silently,

at the shadow you can now see

a love that follows you endlessly,

in an existence without you or me.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

GNZ11

This is for you

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.