Poets logo

The Screams

Inside my mind

By Dee Henderson Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

From that deep place the screams echo.

How is it that no one hears the sound?

My face a mask of blank and calm

I close my eyes and the screams surround.

Fearing discovery, I open my eyes

The screams draw back to a muffled ring,

Constantly sounding in my mind

Without hope of any peace to bring.

My ever-present and unchanging companion,

Now the screams are always there,

Lurking behind my indifferent mask,

Waiting for release to the air.

If ever they escape the barrier I created,

I'm afraid they would never end.

So I keep them tightly under my control

And weaknesses I quickly mend.

In that deep place the screams go on

Threatening always to overtake me,

Drowning out my other thoughts,

Promising to never let me be...

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Dee Henderson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.