Poets logo

The Rose

A short love poem, born in Iraq

By Mark CamposPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Oh dear rose, nobody knows the nectar you propose, or your sweet scent.

I gently rub and tug your petals that you present.

You are so full in color and innocence.

I press my nose in your soft bulb, and the smell is so pleasant.

I feel your soft petals on my lips as I give you a kiss, and I experience true bliss.

I cannot tighten my grip upon your stem; I do not wish to damage what you represent.

You use your thorns as protection; so I must win you over with my affection.

Such a light complexion; I do admire such perfection.

I could not pluck you from your bush, instead I will stare and make you blush.

I’ve got such a crush.

There is such a portion to choose from but no one has your proportion, so I pick you to gaze upon.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.