Poets logo

The Road And The Road Back

By Jason Morton

By Jason Ray Morton Published 2 years ago 1 min read
6
Image by ambroo from Pixabay

My heart I gave freely,

A gift to the one,

Give it I did easily,

Not knowing we were already done,

Best of everything we were,

Once upon a time,

Only knowing the love for her,

Surprised she wanted to be mine,

Lies and deceptions were the only things true,

How would I ever not see just your face,

Wishing forever that it was still you,

When I'd find that special place,

Robbed, I have forever felt,

A pain of which I find no end,

Forced to play the cards that you dealt,

Desperation to return to that point in time again,

Within my grasp,

A better future was there,

You said yes, and I heard a gasp,

That future was to be found nowhere,

The truth from a friend was to fix that broken path,

My best friend chose different for my journey,

Now only one holds the keys to the next, and the last,

If only they would hurry,

The clock ticks on reminding me of what's true,

I won't be finding my way back to the broken track,

Time runs short and there is nothing I can do,

Fearing and end alone, never finding the way back.

sad poetry
6

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Melancholy!!!💖 Superb sad poem!💝

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    It’s very sad and seem like a hopeless love. Enjoyed the sad poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.