Poets logo

The Regrets

A Poem

By Christopher DonovanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6
The Regrets
Photo by Adam Chang on Unsplash

Sleep is a stranger,

My mind whirls and hums.

The regrets pull up a chair,

Merrily regaling me with my shortcomings.

I ignore them: I try to distract myself,

But my brain is now is a portfolio of failure,

Every mistake magnified to the size of a billboard.

My eyes sting with tiredness, my body is cold,

Chilled with thoughts of love I'm incapable of finding,

Dreams of a professional success I am unequipped to realize.

The regrets chunter on...

The silence of friends and family,

All due to a failure on my part;

What if I'm not the scapegoat but simply unlikable?

What if I'm just easy to loathe?

The regrets are incisive: Paring me to the marrow.

Of birthdays I missed - I didn't even find the energy for a simple card,

Occasions I ruined - the social skills of a corpse,

Summer holidays where I found nothing but time for my own sadness,

Of jobs where I failed - one disaster after another,

Of hearts that could only find hate for me.

I'm at one with the regrets: Their sales pitch is intoxicating,

I cannot argue.

A blanket of blame: I'm warm with the barbs.

The regrets fall quiet: Their work done.

Wrapped in their warmth, sleep comes.

They stand sentry, guarding me against the arrival of esteem.

In the morning, the chair is empty: The regrets have vacated.

But I still wear the blanket,

An armor that keeps me locked in,

Cocooned in my mistakes.

If sleep is a stranger,

The regrets will come again tonight,

A lodger I cannot evict.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you've liked what you've read, please check out the rest of my work on Vocal -

If you've really liked what you've read, please share with your friends on social media.

If you've really, really liked what you've read, a small tip would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

sad poetry
6

About the Creator

Christopher Donovan

Hi!

Film, theatre, mental health, sport, politics, music, travel, and the occasional short story... it's a varied mix!

Tips greatly appreciated!!

Thank you!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.