Poets logo

the ramblings of someone you don't know

this isn't about you

By CameronPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I don't think I could live forever,

unless it was assured I would never have to work again.

If I was promised the life of a soul I suppose I could stay waking for moments on going.

If there was no work left to do, no classes left to take

If I knew everything I was meant to know as I stake-

out in the woods, befriending the bugs

Not caring for when they infect me and my lungs.

But you-

And only you-

Claim you can live forever.

That your body will evolve as science becomes better.

That you long to be alive and feel electricity in your veins

And how you can outgrow the disasters and pain that ageing makes one face.

And the thing is... I believe you.

I believe you will last longer than any galaxy or timeline at that.

That you will spend eternity afloat, kissing the stars-

with your lover (the moon) and not noticing when the years part.

That you will find faces in the mist of those you used to know

so you will never forget a name

or the flame they set in your heart.

So no,

I don't think I could live forever.

In fact I think I would be better off dead at thirty something before I can cope with the dread

Caused by every mistake I made in my teens and so on it seems.

I don't think I could find hope in every crevice of the Earth and find reasons to root for nature to continue it's cycle

Of course.

I'll leave the adventuring to you- my life long friend.

Even though I only knew you for a moment

I know, you'll never

forget.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Cameron

They/Them

Aspiring Playwright

Actor

I hope you like poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.