Poets logo

The Rainbow after the Storm

As told through my experience.

By S. G. MarinPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
8
The Rainbow after the Storm
Photo by Greg & Lois Nunes on Unsplash

There once was a terrifying black storm

That lived inside my trembling thoughts

For months, it raged dangerously on

And I was left in a sad blue, completely distraught

-

It was a gray warzone created inside of me

Where bombs were crashing down like rain

I melted into the gray confusion

Nothing seemed to make sense in my brain

-

How can something start so beautiful

In radiant lights of yellow elation

Bring me to a much different place

Where there is simply no explanation?

-

What was once so colorfully beautiful

Has now left me with such anxiety

I really thought she'd stick around

But now I must live with this quietly

-

For who could possibly understand

The cold blue misery of when your child departed?

You can't unless you've been there

Drowning in the deep red waters of the broken-hearted

-

I blamed myself for the unfortunate reality

As I became utterly arcane

The people I knew could no longer relate to me

They just couldn't understand my pain

-

The violent battles that raged on inside of me

The dark gray nebulous sky storming nearer

Lifting my head became too tasking

When all that was left was the dreadful fear

-

Every moment of that time was just so very wrong

The world as I knew it had left me amort

I weakly tried to protect what was left of my heart

By using broken materials to build a fort

-

I kept trying to move forward in the mass of all this chaos

Every breath of every second couldn't heal my wounds

And I almost missed the beauty that was singing my name

A bright green melody forming a much different tune

-

I was surrounded by a pleasant motley light

Gorgeous yellows, reds, oranges, and greens did enter

With bright pinks, indigos, blues, and violets, too

And only then was I able to find my center

-

The rainbow has arrived after my dark storm

You, my son, have come to aurify my world

After such a heartbreaking journey

All these beautiful colors mixed and swirled

-

My world was forever changed in that darkened memory

With the daughter that I had lost

I had become forever changed in that darkened memory

With everything that it had cost

-

Then another change had come about

As soon as you, my darling son, had indeed arrived

With this trap that I created, I was able to break free

Because of you, I became a color that could survive!

inspirational
8

About the Creator

S. G. Marin

I'm optimistic, married, a mom, a writer, a reader, an artist. Being only thirty years young, I want to be a published author when I grow up. I hope to help heal the world with my words, for they are quite powerful when used correctly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.