Poets logo

The Prisoner

I Hold the Keys

By John MarkhamPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Prisoner
Photo by Harry Shelton on Unsplash

I was deeply hurt

And extremely angry.

What he did to me

Had absolutely no good excuse,

No good reason,

No logic whatsoever.

It was purely selfish.

He surely didn’t think about

The pain and anguish he caused me.

And for those unspeakable crimes,

They locked him up.

But that was so long ago,

And now I’m being asked

To unlock that prison cell,

And give him freedom.

Freedom from what?

Freedom from my pain?

Freedom from the consequences?

Freedom from a guilty conscience?

Could he even possibly change?

And how is that justice,

When I still suffer?

I ask the Heavens to make possible

That thing I just cannot do.

How can I forgive

What I can never forget?

And so, with trembling steps,

And tears upon my cheeks,

I approach that cell

With the keys in my hands.

I look down at my shuffling feet,

The slow measured breaths,

Trying to calm myself down.

I insert that key

Into that elusive keyhole

That seems to defy entry.

I turn it with some effort,

And hear the click of the tumblers,

And the sliding of the bolt.

The door swings open.

I look inside to see my tormentor,

Expecting some acknowledgment

Of my sacrifice.

But instead I acknowledge

My own feelings,

And that ultimate sacrifice.

It is myself inside that cold cell.

I allow myself to leave,

To leave behind the darkness,

And the solitude of misery,

And to finally be free

To live again.

©️2022 John Markham

inspirational
1

About the Creator

John Markham

I’m an amateur at writing. I began writing fiction/fantasy as well as poetry as a teenager.

My current stories are about a wizard from Earth named Draco Moonbeam on a clandestine mission in the White Kingdom on the planet Gaia.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.