Poets logo

The Place Where The Sky Meets The Water

By Dez's Public Journal Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Place Where The Sky Meets The Water
Photo by Quinn Nietfeld on Unsplash

I come to the shoreline after dark,

hoping you'll be there waiting for me.

“Don’t be late,” you said,

for I wouldn't see the miracle with my own eyes.

The tide rushes in, wrapping around my feet

like a thick scarf in the fall - a cozy blanket by the fireplace.

I could almost feel the warmth of your body

mixed in with the wind around me.

I look up to see the moon in all its glory,

hovering over the horizon in the distance.

It's been months since I last touched the sand.

Maybe you were right.

Maybe coming back was good for me after all.

Do you remember when we first fell in love?

It was here, on this beach, many sunsets ago.

Oh, to turn back the clock and hold you in my arms again.

To hear you whisper, "I love you" once more.

I'm here, waiting. Will you come too?

Hours pass and the sun begins to rise.

Thank you.

I've finally understood it.

You are the miracle I never knew I always needed to survive.

Where the sky touches the water,

I know that's where I'll always find you.

After all this time, I've finally seen it.

The paintings in the sky,

they’re all love letters from you.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Dez's Public Journal

A candle trying to be the light in someone else’s darkness.

Early Childhood and Music Education

Instagram: _dezzzzzz_

Tumblr: H3artbr3akdiaries3000.tumblr.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.