Poets logo

The Perils of Capitalism

(2021)

By Tom BakerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Last night I dreamt of love. Which, as always, was walking in the opposite direction. I had to stop and grab her hand, pull her back. I noted she was missing an "I".

"Going to some radical demonstration?" I asked.

She smiled. Lamented no one was donating money anymore. "It's the perils of capitalism," I quipped.

A wisp of a girl with long dark hair. I could see that half of her face was eaten by a scar.

Behind me, an eager meeting of black-suited fascists cowered in the conference room.

Behind HER, a marching throng of militant youth came forward, holding placards announcing the peace of ages. Preparing for war.

It was a moment.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tom Baker

Author of Haunted Indianapolis, Indiana Ghost Folklore, Midwest Maniacs, Midwest UFOs and Beyond, Scary Urban Legends, 50 Famous Fables and Folk Tales, and Notorious Crimes of the Upper Midwest.: http://tombakerbooks.weebly.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.