Poets logo

The Path Forward.

I must continue on.

By Tommy BallardPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
"The World's End" - An Original Glitch Art Piece of Mine.

As I walk this lonely road,

What once was warm has now turned cold,

The ground beneath me once was stone,

Now uneven, the light that showed the way is gone,

With blackened hearts and muddied souls,

The past becomes a gaping hole,

No, I can not let it drag me so,

I will not go to Dante’s Inferno,

Though the past is bleak I must move on,

The future is not set, it’s the past that contains only tombstones,

A beaten brow, dripping with sweat,

With bated breath I can’t see ahead,

But still I must continue on,

Though the sun has already set,

Though the night air permeates my lungs,

I know I must continue on,

For the past is now already gone,

The further forward I go the more distant it becomes,

One day nothing but a faded memory,

The odd and rare intrusive thought,

And as those thoughts become less common,

I simply must continue on,

For one day they will all be gone,

Now I shall face the future head on,

Some say the only way to win is not to play,

I say stagnation is accepting to die slowly,

So one thing I trust in surely,

It’s always darkest before the dawn,

So no matter what’s to come,

I simply must continue on.

surreal poetrysad poetry
2

About the Creator

Tommy Ballard

I'm a professional writer, a poet, a digital artist and an amateur musician. In my free time, I can often be found pondering magnets, breaking and entering random homes to steal locks of human hair and throwing car batteries into the ocean.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.