Poets logo

The Passage of Life

A Song of Love Lost

By Jack DrakePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5
The Passage of Life
Photo by ella peebles on Unsplash

“The Passage of Life”

Canvas sails raised up the oaken mast,

Stout vessel released out to the sea,

Mooring lines cast off, ship makes way, fast.

Begins the journey, gathered folk see,

A sailor’s wife, she has breathed her last.

To the next life! Someone dear to me…

Tribe, clan, fam'ly all stand on the shore,

All who survived watch the ship away,

Dignity born from ages of lore.

Thoughtful pause, we know not what to say.

Our heads held high, waves break on the shore.

Stand tall young ones, brave, this mournful day!

I look to the path, hail to Odin:

“She stood fast her ground, an oath she swore!

Care for her soul, from cold bring her in.”

I look to the sky, asking of Thor:

“Let the thunder roll! Bring the brisk wind.

Lightning’s crash, she deserved so much more!”

I look to the mountains, call Skadi:

“See to her rest, her joy, let her roam.

Mark the stones, keep her spirit wild, free.”

I look to the village, Freya, please:

“She n’er failed to know, cats make the home!

At every turn, she glad served thee.”

I look to my heart, hear kind Baldr:

“May her peace be whole, fires burn bright,

Sweet mead, brown bread, gentle arms, soft furs.”

I look to the sea, Njord’s endless sight:

“To a beautiful place, the right hers.

A fierce embrace, jewel'd glinting light.”

To those who took her life, no quarter.

Should the waters burn and giants fight,

Would the world melt, and the dragons stir,

One by one, through time, you’ll feel my bite.

Without care, high summer, dark winter,

To this pledge my soul, vengeance my right!

Evil condemned, as I am to life,

Today feels like forever, steep fall!

Motherless children, I lost my wife,

Doomed the long death, like an immortal,

Divided by eternity’s knife,

Steel blade and flower, broken heart’s call.

My years, her life, losses, they will count,

No drudgery too much, grinding war,

Blade sharp swing, with each strike give a shout!

All that would have been becomes my roar!

Over the passes, I know the route,

A grueling road ahead, burden bore.

All before, behind, lost all that was,

Warmth found, held against the cruel night,

Scattered now upon embittered cause.

I will not, may not rest, fists clench tight.

Do not say I cannot cry, give pause!

To these tasks and toils, with all my might.

Gazing again to the setting sun,

Ancient fire, arrow, yew hewn bow,

Creak! Flex! Draw strong, steady, skill hard won...

Loose! A single ray of light lets go,

Longship laden, craft second to none,

Consumed by cleansing flame, beauty’s glow.

Her life’s pure light, my destiny’s guide.

When darkness hears my name, let them flee!

If they do, I shall climb the mounts high,

I will cross oceans, my legacy,

Leave this world, to the stars I will fly!

Ever into the uncertainty,

And my own brutal, final surprise.

It is written, the great scholars say:

We all must end, we all once began.

The storytellers, the wise priests pray:

These joys, pains; nothing more for a man.

Death of love? Never, not on this day!

Passage of life, an infinite span.

Below the waves, woman warrior,

Songs rising, glory in the twilight,

Flutes and drums, haunting, sweet, our grief tore.

May it never dim, this vision bright!

But in me died, what was there before,

Small innocence, my childish delight.

That lost piece of what I put away,

The shard of cracked young hopes, of dreams drowned,

Rests now, deep in the heart of that bay.

Without this piece, my soul to fate bound.

Through tears, a candle for her birthday,

Treasure of joy, never again found.

-- J.R.H.

heartbreak
5

About the Creator

Jack Drake

It is what it is.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.