Poets logo

The owl calls

The haunting of an omen

By Martin AhrensPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The owl calls
Photo by Agto Nugroho on Unsplash

The bird called out yet another night,

changing my curiosity to fright.

Was there a message in his calling for me?

A bad omen, this cannot be.

Now I wait and stress all day,

wishing this bird would just go away.

I pull dusty books from the shelf,

hoping for answers to calm myself.

Another night comes, the bird keeps calling.

Searching the dark woods, I keep falling.

This messenger I cannot find,

now reserving a spot in my mind.

Madness overpowers my brain,

thinking of this bird I must refrain.

But there must be a reason,

for his presence in this season.

Must I assume this message is bad,

why would I think this bird sounds mad?

So much thought for just a bird call,

after all, it is just a bird call.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • test2 years ago

    Owl contains All Medicine. It is always calling to us. The only thing ominous is trying not to hear it, for it is always there to help.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.