Poets logo

The One I Love

The one I leave behind

By Samantha GrossPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

We all desire and deserve to be loved, except for me.

I am cold and numb wishing to have a hand to hold.

Cold and frozen in the life I’ve chosen, the past is far behind me and

You shall never find me.

Love can un thaw a frozen heart according to Disney’s movie Frozen but in real life it terrified me.

It scared me so much to love so true I ran and had to get away from you.

Looking at this from outside in, The lady with the drive to always win.

I lost the battle, I went all in and heart broke is where it begins.

Stay away your good at that, for all You say I do is hurt you, And I don’t want that.

My cruelty is pain you might begin to think,

in all honesty it’s my heart that begins to sink.

As I feel yours break as I say goodbye,

I am only doing this

To protect you on the inside.

I don’t want your tears,

Or to be what causes you pain,

I just want you happy and I only have me to blame.

Walking away is unfair you say, but our love forbidden so I must not stay.

I am always with you,

wherever you may go, look to the sky

I am your rainbow

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Gross

Published Author of children’s book Baby Bigga Goes to the Zoo and Anchor on Coffee Talk with Samantha and Paul

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.