Poets logo

The Ocean and Me

With eyes anew

By A.N.TiptonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
10
The Ocean and Me
Photo by Kayvan Mazhar on Unsplash

Once upon a rainy, dreary day,

the Ocean’s song answered my call

with waves of compassion

and infinite wisdom.

• • •

Her white crests flatten

and kiss my toes, washing me clean.

I drop down into my grateful heart,

and send back waves of love and gratitude.

• • •

And for a moment we become one,

the Ocean and me,

to exist in the forever now,

communing as Mother Gaia intended.

• • •

Salty winds smooth over my eye lashes,

her gentle exhalations

inviting me to behold

the sight of new day.

• • •

We caused a shift,

the Ocean and me,

one that reverberated throughout my very soul,

grounding me to the tunes of the Earth.

• • •

And so, I take her invitation,

as the waves sing their

crashing crescendo behind me,

like an avenging Goddess.

• • •

With eyes anew, the worldview has changed,

morphing into endless possibilities

and promises and truths of

our inherent divine sovereignty.

• • •

The Ocean whispers to me,

of things forgotten,

of tales of the untold past, present and future,

readying my soul for remembrance.

• • •

For it is time, she sighs,

time to awaken,

time to shine your inner flame

and remember your eternal power.

• • •

Made of the same divine material

as stardust, existing in the

continuous cycle of the cosmos,

are the Ocean and me.

• • •

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed and please Heart or Share - Tips Optional ;)

For more of my work, click here.

© 2022 A. N. Tipton

nature poetry
10

About the Creator

A.N.Tipton

I am a Writer, a Lover of Books, a Mother & an Usui Reiki Master who loves to read & write & all things Universal. Words move me, inform me, inspire me.

https://linktr.ee/A.N.Tipton

© 2023 A. N. Tipton

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • test2 years ago

    Which is to say, I get the feeling that a lot of your poetry is arrived at after all the really difficult stuff is over, the calm after the storm. Where is the sad and angry girl? Where the pining spirit? Where the hungry heart? this is the stuff of classical angst and ennui.

  • test2 years ago

    Okay. I am getting that your poetry is about healing for you, about feeling the love of the earth. I would love to see you try a different form. You might be surprised. I get that you have to "look like a poet." The biggest mistake poets (of all ages and classes) make is trying to write like a poet. Try writing like a wounded soldier on the battlefield with all of your troops dying and spitting blood out of their mouths, looking up to a banner struck by the rising sun. Sounds like Lord of the Rings but it an really get the blood going. And poetry is of the blood.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.