Poets logo

The Numbing

Detaching Suppression

By Cameron McCollumPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Im just gonna detach my emotions again.

I care too much and need to not.

Try to do good but then I've got

so many motherfluffcakes who understand me not.

I express myself once and they do NOT

understand. It's always confusion.

"You need to speak with the man who everyone prays to!"

I've tried that plan.

Numerous times over and over again.

Each time I've failed to deliver and receive the desires and the thoughts that I've held inside of me...

I can't progress unless I work.

I can't progress unless I work.

I can't progress. . .

It's not just logic.

It includes morality

It's not just standards

Yet a common functionality

To protect for the betterment of those around me.

It's love for the innocent(supposedly).

I have no hate for those who's betrayed me.

A barrier of distrust formed against all I've given to thee.

And it's all I have. My words and me... But still

I won't give up. I'll just detach myself again.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.