Poets logo

THE NIGHT

DANCE ME TO THE EARLY LIGHT

By Victor MendezPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

May 12, 2015, 8:37 PM

.............The NIGHT..............

Intoxicate my mind,

With thoughts running barefoot

Through fields of rhythms.

Thumping,

Swaying,

Sashaying...

Dance me away on tapestries woven in music,

Sound diving down to the depth of bone...

Lift my soul on waves of notes spilling from the pores

Of skin spun together in shades of rhythm...

Plucked from the least to the best.

Don't let me rest!

Caress my ears with the sublime.

Cuddle me, wrap me, take me, take your time.

Don't worry that me you tire,

Just color my world with music's fire!

Sweep me up...in the rhythms of your emotion,

Soak me like waves in deepest ocean!

Drop your story on my street,

Tapping toes, dancing feet......

......Exhaust me!

Wring me dry...

Then tuck me in...and...

Soft, say Good Night!

PEACE

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Victor Mendez

Born in 1958.There's a lot of road beneath these feet.Worn out pairs upon pairs of shoes.Been a ranch kid,a city kid,a Marine,a dad, a grandfather now,an avid reader and just recently began writing poetry in 2015 just to vent.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.