Poets logo

The “N” Word

The word no one wants to hear.

By Joe PattersonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
4
The “N” Word
Photo by Aigerim Kalysheva on Unsplash

let’s talk about a word that everybody fears, it’s a word we never wanna hear.

Every time this word comes out and wants to play, you’ll see the rest of society run away.

It’s a shock to the system when this word grabs you. We forgot this word is still a taboo.

This word makes a conversation go south. We never wanna hear this word come out of anyone’s mouth.

We should call this term a sin word, but I won’t do that, I’ll just refer to it as the “N” word.

If I utter this word you can’t take it. Nevertheless I think I still have to say it.

Such a dangerous word I shouldn’t mumble. As soon as I say it you know your mind is gonna crumble.

The “N” word sends our ears on a fearful go. The “N” word I’m talking about is the word NO.

The choice of the word NO is not a favorite selection. When you hear it you feel overwhelmed with rejection.

It’s the word I don’t wanna hear you say, because it means things probably won’t go my way.

I really can't stomach the heartache of someone giving me this term of never-ending heartbreak.

NO this, NO that, I can’t send the NO back. Why not? The denial of NO needs to go back.

Sometimes it's "NO' to truth, sometimes it's "NO" to lies. Sometimes a "NO" is just a blessing in disguise.

I wish I heard a yes aka the you win word, but instead I got stuck with a NO…the “N” word.

social commentary
4

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    So much truth in this!! Great work :)

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    and a few of us have a tough time using it! Great job

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Very well said.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Very insightful. Great job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.