Poets logo

The Most Dangerous Thing You Can Do

To Live is to Try

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Most Dangerous Thing You Can Do
Photo by Sandy Millar on Unsplash

Bungee from a bridge, base jump off cliffs.

Take the risk of dying from one minor slip.

Eat blowfish and hold venomous snakes.

Suppose poison, or venom, becomes your fate.

Walk with tigers, swim with sharks.

Accept that these creatures could tear you apart.

But don’t hold onto me. That is the most dangerous thing you can do.

Heights, toxins, and predators won’t tell you the truth. You know who I am.

I am never scared. I am unaware. I am complacency.

Wing walk on planes, fall from the sky with a chute.

You only have one life to live, and that’s all you have to lose.

Hold a black widow and pet a cane toad.

Breathing is harder when your throat starts to close.

Run with bulls, hibernate along side a bear.

Who can predict if you will be none the worse for wear.

But don’t hold onto me. That is the most dangerous thing you can do.

Heights, toxins, and predators won’t tell you the truth. You know who I am.

I am never scared. I am unaware. I am complacency.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read The Most Dangerous Thing You Can Do, you can find even more of my work by copying and pasting the link below :)

https://vocal.media/authors/jeffrey-4v5pk6038a

Likes, comments, subscriptions, etc. are all appreciated!

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.