Poets logo

The Metronome Mind

An unsteady attachment through life felt in extremes

By ParadoxFoxPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Metronome Mind
Photo by Sean Benesh on Unsplash

My bed is cold, your scent is gone

I grasp for what was--even a shred

so I'm left with melancholy and memories,

but never regret

Because the moments with you

define those without

Thus I must concede;

loneliness is a lust for the past

for even mere days separate

suspend me for eras

And those spent in your company

escape instantly as fractals;

the ego's crystallization

of all things pure, a storage that corrodes

and sets misery in stone

as a souring meal for later

Every second I feel joy

creates another where I suffer;

a steady metronome,

oscillating in perfect, even measures

And how does it stop?

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

ParadoxFox

I value feedback and thoughtful conversation. Talk to me on discord: ParadoxFox#7986

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.