Poets logo

The Mermaid From The Sea

I met her while chasing the waves, She was dancing in the sea.

By Srinidhi RanganathanPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
The Mermaid From The Sea
Photo by mo jo on Unsplash

I met her while chasing the waves,

She was dancing in the sea.

I followed her with my eyes,

wondering where she could be.

She couldn’t have been older than eighteen,

With eyes like swirls of green.

She appeared to be innocent and unaware,

but her movements led me to believe otherwise.

She was laughing at me,

I saw it in her eyes every time I looked her way.

It was a mermaid I saw.

When the sun was at its highest,

She disappeared into the sky.

I jumped into a boat and sailed out,

I didn’t want to be afraid.

But when the sun sets,

The fear comes in waves like it has my entire life.

I only had two choices

Curse her in the dark,

Or let her help me.

I never knew love,

I never knew what it was.

But, I suddenly felt love

surrounding me.

The mermaid appeared to see me yet again,

She was in my arm in an instant.

She was wrapped in her hands,

I couldn’t see her face, just her eyes

But I could see her happiness,

We lived happily for a year,

until one day I found

she was gone.

I fell to the mucky water

and tried to find her.

I tried forever to find her,

but suddenly the world turned into a fireball

And I was going to die on the beach.

But she appeared, and then I was

spinning in the air.

I saw her eyes, then something hit

the ground.

Maybe it was just a hallucination, I thought,

but I could feel the pain for a second,

The pain turned to joy 

The mermaid was in front of me smiling,

I had no idea what words I said,

The spinning stopped, and I felt

a soft, gentle touch.

I opened my eyelids slowly,

I felt my hand in the sand,

I started to remember everything,

and then I realized what had happened.

The mermaid had saved me,

given me a new life.

“Where were you?” I asked.

Her reply was, “On the other side of the sea”

“I love you, but I have to go”

“Why, where will you go?” I said

“To the other side of the sea”, she said with a smile.

“I’m afraid that means you’ll be gone forever!”

“It’s okay. Don’t be afraid”

“What happened to my life?” I asked

“I saved you,” she said.

“But how?” I said

She replied with a kiss on the cheek.

She said, “I love you”.

I’ve never experienced love

I’ve never had a chance.

I thank her for the love she gave me

But, I know one last thing

she said “Think of me, I will appear anytime”

In her eyes, now I saw divinity.

All I could do is smile

and say “I love you” in return.

The mermaid disappeared

And my life was saved.

I know I will see her again someday,

I know I will be with her,

I will love her,

and she will love me.

I sail out during dawn, and wait for her daily by the shore,

Remembering our final meeting.

How I saw her smiling at me as we parted that day,

I haven’t a doubt that,

I will be with her again and 

this is a deal I made with the Lord.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Srinidhi Ranganathan

I hold a degree in English Literature. I love reading books and writing is my passion. "Dream of Rainbows" is my first book for children. I love to write fiction, non-fiction and blog articles on popular topics. Happy reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.