Poets logo

The Look

The eyes are the windows to the soul

By Hunter-Taylor NatyshakPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I remember the moment I first met you, I can recall the look in your eyes.

They showed you were tattered and broken, you looked dead on the inside.

I can remember you telling me, you just wanted to run and hide.

I remember the nights when we would sit and talk all night,

You would tell me you problems and I would tell you mine.

You would tell it felt you were drowning, and that you were running out of time.

I told you to always keep fighting, that I will always be by your side.

I remember being there the many times you would sit there and cry,

I would hold you and tell you that everything would be alright.

As time went on you continued to fight,

You grew stronger and stronger with each day that went by.

You were getting better, the life was back in your eyes.

You told me you were thankful that I never left your side.

Then one day you disappeared, not a trace left behind.

I searched and searched, but there was nothing to find.

You had moved on with life and left me behind,

You were now happy with life but I was not with mine.

You had new friends, and I had lost all mine.

Now I need your help the most, but you no longer need mine.

I remember the moment we met and the look in your eyes.

Now when I look in the mirror, I see the same look in mine.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.