Poets logo

The Longing for a Love That Will Never Be

I ache with longing, deep inside, For a love that will never be. You haunt my dreams, a ghostly bride, And leave me feeling lost and free.

By Sabih Ul HassanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
The Longing for a Love That Will Never Be
Photo by Ksenia Makagonova on Unsplash

I close my eyes and see your face,

A smile that once filled my days.

The love we shared, now but a trace,

Of memories that now just fade.

I ache with longing, deep inside,

For a love that will never be.

You haunt my dreams, a ghostly bride,

And leave me feeling lost and free.

I know I must move on from you,

But my heart refuses to obey.

It aches with emptiness, true and blue,

And longs for a love that's here to stay.

So I'll cherish the memories we made,

And try to heal the wounds within.

For a love that was never meant to last,

Will always linger deep within.

love poemssad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sabih Ul Hassan

"If you look to others for fulfillment, you will never be fulfilled. If your happiness depends on money, you will never be happy with yourself. Be content with what you have; rejoice in the way things are.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.