Poets logo

The Longest Week

March 15-22, 2019

By A J BarkerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Following the mosque massacre in Christchurch, New Zealand.

A compulsion to write this

The grief fills me and I need to make space

Write it away

Push out the pain and let light back in

Is it too soon to move on?

I feel guilty for wanting to, when so many cannot

Shock came first and I felt empty

Then the anger and sadness, which lingers still

I want to fill myself with peace again

My rightful place

My natural state

With the tears and confusion

I lost myself to grieve

It wasn't me

Unfocused, distracted, undisciplined

This week has been a write-off

I also felt so proud

So much pride for my chosen land

So far away, I felt disconnected

I resented that

Mass grief I couldn't be part of

No-one here understood

I felt alone in my grief

(But it is not about me)

Every news story of the lost

The hakas and the speeches

Made me sob

"Hello brother"

Broke me

Every message of unity

Hurt my heart, every time

I want to try to heal that

I need to try

Overwise it will overwhelm me

And then 'he' would have won

I will never forget

This has changed me forever

I pray for harmony

I stand for that

Even more than before

No longer passive and silent

My voice will be heard

Strong and clear

There is no room for hate

I will make sure of that

My faith is powerful

My heart full of love

I share it with you

My Brothers and Sisters

One Love

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

A J Barker

I love writing poetry! Initially just for me, a cathartic exercise where I could express my feelings safely. Now I share my work: my goal to write for a living so I write, avidly, knowing the only way I will become a writer is if I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.