Poets logo

The “Logical Errors” Dilemma

A Free verse Poem by a frustrated coder

By Ceirra EvansPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
The “Logical Errors” Dilemma
Photo by Roman Synkevych 🇺🇦 on Unsplash

Coding will be fun they said, you'll get to create magic they said, but one course in and I am ready to eat stale bread.

Professor X says,

Brainstorm a program

“Make it make sense to others”

Sounds easy at first until you want to hide under the covers

They teach you the basics of the "Hello World" beginner coding line.

You type in it the command prompt and coding seems like it will be fine.

Professor X moves onto the methods, objects and classes - get ready to clean your glasses

Just when you think coding will be fun, the headaches have not even begun.

Professor X transitions to the big guns teaching the importance of booleans and arrays, Oh how fun!

Be prepared to stay up for hours at a time because JAVA said you committed a syntax crime

ERROR, ERROR screams C++

This program says your logic is unjust.

IF string b= "Hi" THEN print (Hi)- and after a thousand logical errors you just want to say BYE BYE BYE.

If only the program was in sync with my brain , I would not be tempted to throw my computer by the tracks of a speeding train.

But you forget that this stupid program is due by the end of the week

But If I see a "runtime error" again, I AM GOING TO FREAK!

Why must you give me such a hard time- I swear I have gone through every SINGLE LINE

From 1 to 100 I'd rather throw myself in a dungeon

than have to go through the scavenging part - just put a dagger through my heart.

Please oh please have mercy on me but this program named after a snake will be the death of me.

How I want this Array to store all the values into one so I won't have to list all types under the sun into VAR 1 VAR 2 and VAR 3. Oh how I plead again to have mercy on me.

Oh how I have gone to multiple resources for answers and guiding

Other's who share my story have gone into hiding.

However, I aim to be one of the few that have gone through trial and tribulations , for on that day my program becomes one of the few that will lead to a plethora of mini vacations.

One can dream right, instead of feeling uptight knowing I have to stay up all night.

Fighting through sleep, hunger and pain, Oh how I will remain a troop and get this done while I have The Big Bang Theory on a loop.

For the 50th time I hit "Run" here comes Python telling me,

"Hun, you got an error on line 3." I read it and says Import Error

I have put a module in that doesn't exist, oh the TERROR!

I tell myself don't fret, this is the only error I bet.

"Hahaha the program laughs at me, I thought it was one but sike its an error times 3.

The debugger says go back you have an error at line six.

"No worries !", I say "that should be a simple fix".

Just simple and error of Indentation in your code of creation.

On to the next one, line number nine - " you have Type Error that is underlined.

Oh no I have tried to print but realized I can't run and string with a var of type INT.

I get to the end and finally I am done! coding will resume when I see the sun!

I wake up the next day to view my masterpiece I have edited until Dawn

I didn't have save and it is all gone!!

Coding will be fun they said, you'll get to create magic they said

Oh how I wished I would've taken up SQL instead.

FIN

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Ceirra Evans

I always thought my niche was only in computers and technology. I recently tried my hand at writing short stories and I’ve come to enjoy it a lot. I hope by being a part of this community that my writing skills become better in my stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Shelbi Thomas2 years ago

    I loved that you made me feel your frustration even when I've never gone past the HTML days

  • This was an excellent poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.