Poets logo

The Little Things

I never tire from...

By Heather LeePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
The Little Things
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

When it comes to life’s little pleasures,

some are more extravagant than others;

Perhaps exotic in pursuit and sporadic in measure-

Such are pleasures that others might treasure.

As for a creature of habit, routine

And a habitual homebody like me,

All I need to make each new day a dazzling dream are

The rousing constants inhabiting my daily scheme.

Be that the searing beads of serenity

Saturating my weary bones so splendidly...

Or the musky aroma of a steadfast summer rain

Seeping through the dodgy, decrepit window pane….

The rain… oh the rain, I shall most enjoy…

Although not by myself, but with a favored boy.

His hands- well they will softly stroke my shy, satin skin

And soon- my cheek brushes against his brisk, bristled chin.

This is a most treasured and dear time

For this pulsating body and beating heart of mine.

For next, our lips once again align- an act I never

Tire from- for it’s always as succulent as the first time.

These and more are the sparks in my soul-

The flicker of hope on days most dark and dull.

Life’s little indulgences are nothing short of inspired,

For in the end, they are what ignite the internal fire.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Heather Lee

The name is Heather, but I answer to anything ~ adventurous spirit ~ <3 the outdoors (just never ask me to kill a spider) ~ trying to find myself while trying to find love ~ animal lover ~ hopeless romantic ~ broke af twenty six year old

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.