Poets logo

The light

Your smile can light up a thousand rooms

By Anuthmee SenevirathnePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The light
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

As I walked alone on the street,

I craved some heat,

for I was shivering in the brutal cold,

without a jacket, I could hold,

Suddenly it began to rain,

and my craving for warmth grew still,

but I was left to be cold, again,

with the cruel lingering chill,

after surviving in the cold,

I grew tired and sat down on the pavement,

not long after that a child sat next to me, looking bold,

after a few minutes of silence, he told me his statement,

he was begging for food,

I ignored the boy and didn't give him the piece of bread I had,

then I looked at the boy and realized I was quite rude,

he looked helpless and sad,

and so I gave him the bread,

and he showed me a smile too big for his face,

and then I realized with dread,

that it wasn't cold anymore in this place.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anuthmee Senevirathne

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.