Poets logo

The Light at the End

The Art of Walking in Train Tunnels

By Paige GraffunderPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Scott Eckersley on Unsplash

I'm walking in a tunnel,

The lights are out, it's dark in here.

Steady footfalls on the pavement,

With each step I take, my thoughts clear.

I know that there is danger,

That I am walking on the rails,

But the only rumbling sound I hear,

Is the hitching sounds of my inhales.

I haven't eaten in 3 days.

I know how this is classified.

But my body feels much more my own,

When I can tell it's ossified.

My body is a canvas,

On which to show my art.

And I'm a shitty painter,

But filled with so much heart.

I can hear my mother's voice

"You know this isn't wise."

The only end I can see to this

Is my enlightenment or demise.

I am fine with either outcome,

I know that sounds bizarre,

But I'm too far gone from where I started

And I'm bleeding far too much to scar.

So I'm walking in a tunnel,

Each step gets much less hesitant.

I don't know where I am going,

The destination's in development.

Even the barren walls seem lavish,

The concrete feels to soft,

I'm just too used to pain to feel,

Too frozen to defrost.

So I continue breathing,

And walking with no vision,

Maybe I'll break free,

Or I'm just asking for collision.

But life is incandescent,

An opulent machine,

Full of buttons, levers, and switches,

I just don't know what they could mean.

But maybe I'm too curious

Too addicted to the chase.

So I just keep on walking,

Through this narrow space.

And maybe there's a little light

Coming from the end,

But who can say if it's a train,

Or a waiting friend.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Paige Graffunder

Paige is a published author and a cannabis industry professional in Seattle. She is also a contributor to several local publications around the city, focused on interpersonal interactions, poetry, and social commentary.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.