Poets logo

The lies we tell

Wishing I was someone else

By Nicole GilbertPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&url=https%3A%2F%2Fpsiloveyou.xyz%2Fis-there-an-app-to-stop-parents-from-screaming-at-their-kids-over-device-use-a38a964ad3a5&psig=AOvVaw0yJsRfYPAZqW8T6Qqa1JrP&ust=1595172286450000&source=images&cd=vfe&ved=0CAIQjRxqFwoTCICkiZOO1-oCFQAAAAAdAAAAABAD

Could I be like Poe and hear the raven tap,

Or should I just be me?

You want me to sit with my heart under the floor,

But I kissed you goodbye before the second course.

Words come to me like velvet sheets,

When I write them, it’s like wine.

I sit here thinking how I can forgive you for all your awful lies.

Ten pieces of silver and two of gold

Couldn’t buy back what he stole.

Yet, you sit here looking straight at me

And grin with snarling teeth.

I smile back and think of how I should leave,

Or maybe listen to the words you say.

But times are strange,

And birds still sing.

Tomorrow is another day.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nicole Gilbert

I am a 30 year old wife, and mom of three. I am a Christian, and a free thinker. I suffer from anxiety and depression stemming from past abuse. I use writing as a tool to help manage my mental illness. I’m wanting to break into freelance.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.