Poets logo

The Lies I Tell Myself

A Poem

By Elise Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo Source: Unsplash

I feel you inside my heart and mind,

there’s a warmth you left behind.

But it slips away day by day,

getting colder as the seasons change.

In my dreams I can hear you.

It’s all so real

in the dead of night

when I miss you the most.

But when I’m awake

I can’t remember you.

Or is that just a lie I tell myself?

Have I forgotten you?

Are you here?

Will you ever be here again?

I need you but that’s a lie too.

I know you whisper my name

into the breeze and send it my way.

When the moonlight touches my skin,

and the night chill sweeps past me

I realise it’s you.

You’re here and yet you aren’t.

I guess I’ll never truly know if it’s you,

but I want to live in this lie I tell myself.

Because imaging you're here

brings comfort that no one

and nothing else can give me.

Show me a sign that it's not a lie.

I’ll beg you each and every night.

And no matter how many times

you show me you’re here

it is never enough.

What can I do to let you go?

No, don’t tell me.

I want to live in this lie a little longer.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Elise

I love all things tarot, art, and writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.