Poets logo

The Lie

A poem

By Willow Rakiah Creager Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

You were kind at first,

And loved my words.

Enjoyed my mind more than anyone has.

You weren't repelled by sorrow,

You seemed content.

And best of all,

Your love felt true.



I'd like to say it was,

And that I know the difference.

But MY love was true.



I don't know what words

Made you turn...

But I'd give every breath to undo them.

To jumble the sound

As if our town

Sits itself atop Babel...



How many years

Before this memory fades?

The very first time I felt loved,

Lucky,

Wanted.

Whisked away as if it never was.

They say I'm the monster now,

Left to grieve,

And taunted endlessly for speaking out.



They say you feel loved, lucky, and wanted,

Ways you didn't feel with me.

Now you've made a home with her,

And me a pariah for jealous words

Painted as truth

That make me out to be

The lie.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Willow Rakiah Creager

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.