Poets logo

The Last Proclamation of My Soul...

What awaits me now?

By Priss LeePublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

I believed in you. I wanted you to be my everything.

You painted me such a beautiful picture of the future. You allowed me to believe it. You told me you would be there for me. You promised to take me away from the turmoil I’ve always known. You promised serenity, peace, structure. As I teetered the gate between my world and yours I neglected to peek.

I was blind, you see.

I never thought to look. Just a glance. Into the world you so promised me. A world you said would be mine alone to frolic in and enjoy. A world you promised would be for the two of us. As you tugged my hand through the barrier I followed. Blindly. I never anticipated the walls to crumble. The walls to corrode and decay. I never expected you to become dark. I don’t believe this is you. I believe the you who promised me paradise and a new beginning. A you who promised luxury and equality. Now you’re a shadow. A shadow I’m all too familiar with. I find myself running from my past. A past that I had already left behind. But you see? It left remnants. Remnants of what shouldn’t be there. Why is it swallowing my comprehension? My understanding? My kindness? ….My soul? I never understood why the clutches of my father clamped down so tightly around my neck as I grew older. Watching as the darkness I knew he always harbored came slowly to light. I never understood why he burned me with words. Tortured my soul with snide remarks.

Now I see.

He was preparing me. Preparing me for the you that I would soon meet. The you who I knew I wouldn’t believe until it was too late. You’ve gotten me through the corridor and slipped me into the cracks. Now I’m yours and theres nothing I can do. I willingly gave my heart to a demon who would mistreat it. You’re not a shadow from my past. You have become the constant reminder of why I was running. Now I’m trapped. You’ve got me? Is that not enough? No. You have to lick me. Clip my wings. Ensure my freedom inevitable.

Yet you see.

Time is something that can break you. Yet for me time is my greatest weapon. Allow me enough time. I’ll build my arsenal. Allow me some time. I’ll destroy this cage. Give me time. I will demolish all that you know.

For they see.

I am a phoenix. I rise from the incomprehensible. I fly high with scorn. I burn myself to find that resolve. From the ashes comes absolution. You will know who I am. My shadows know me. They silently applaud. I have thwarted all of them. They are no longer.

So continue down your path, good demon of my paradise.

For you will know my pain. Unless you change. Become something better. I beg you. Become something pure. Something whole. Become something I will embrace. Someone I can trust. Be my dream once more. Make me believe in you as I once did. For I must caution you: If you do not heed me now. You will know who I am. You will reek darkness on my world nevermore.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Priss Lee

Weaving words into stories and adventures is what I live for! Whether it be horror, pets or anything else. Stories are my way of expressing the different sides of my persona.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.