Poets logo

The Last Cigarette

consequences of being lost in lust

By Kevin KhimPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Thoughts of you between my lips never seem to leave my head. It was a craving that nothing else couldn’t fix. Even from the start we were a "match" made in hell, ready to set this whole world on fire. A reflection of all my bad habbits rolled into one. Relentlessly staining my smile with small moments of bliss. Sometimes I wonder if you're really worth all the toxicity in my life. Somehow I’ve became dependent on all the things you made me feel, knowing damn well you're slowly killing me. I've grown to ignore all the red flags about you in hopes the cancer isn’t the one to finally kill me. This isn't what I had in mind when I said you took my breath away. Yet here you are, giving me internal warmth. Pack after pack, I wonder how much more my lungs can take before my heart gives out. Perhaps one day I'll learn how to quit you, but for now... one more time can't hurt. 

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kevin Khim

choreographer and everything else

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.