Poets logo

The Landlord of Calamity

and the tenants expected to pay rent

By Jeffrey SparksPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
The Landlord of Calamity
Photo by Robert L. on Unsplash

Adversity is kindling

I choose to burn

to keep my hands warm in winter

ensuring my words

will stretch beyond the years

that turn my bones to dust.

Misery is the motivation

that serves to push

my thoughts in search

for hidden blessings when

living in this world

sporadically feels unjust.

I am no stranger to misfortune.

I am well versed in the art of heartache.

I once invited tragedy to my birthday

only to watch him steal my cake.

Because of that

every now and then

for little, short stints

Trial and Tribulation become my friends

and although they stay in my house

I charge them rent because

no misfortune controls my life.

Thank you for taking the time to read "The Landlord of Calamity."

If enjoyed my work and would like to read more please check out Panes of Glass below, which was featured as a Vocal Top Story.

Likes, comments, subscriptions are all very much appreciated.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.