Poets logo

The Lament of the Alarm Clock

Or, the Hole in my Beanie.

By Claire GuérinPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
The Lament of the Alarm Clock
Photo by Kevin Andre on Unsplash

Alarm clock oh my nemesis

Why do you insist?

It is far too early

Sun don't shine already.

*

Alarm clock oh my enemy,

I know, friends are waiting.

Might as well strip the band-aid:

Down on the floor my blankets end.

*

Alarm clock oh stupid thing,

Can't you see on is all my clothing?

Naked skin not long lasts,

Pants slip faster on freezing ass.

*

Alarm clock, stop your shouting,

In hiking shoes soon I'm going.

My backpack is almost ready,

I only need a thermos for hot tea.

*

Alarm clock, yes I speed

To the station up the hill.

I pull the beanie over my ears.

Warm as sun, its color cheers.

*

Alarm clock, I'm almost there,

But my woolly hat badly fares.

Where last weekend it was burnt,

Blizzard now enters the vent.

*

Alarm clock, I can't miss the train,

Today we go trekking again.

Warm fire melts the snow;

Embers burn beanies though.

__________________________________________________________________

If you liked this poem, you might also enjoy...

3 simple ways to support my writing, for free

  1. Share with loved ones.
  2. Follow me on Instagram.
  3. Subscribe to my newsletter.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Claire Guérin

I write speculative fiction and poems. I dream of becoming a published, full-time author. If you like my short stories and poems on Vocal, share them, follow me on Instagram and subscribe to my newsletter! More about me here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Fun! I like a bit of whimsy myself.

  • Kenny Pennabout a year ago

    This is one of my favorite poems! Humorous and well written, plus relatable!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.