Poets logo

The Lady of the House

a poem

By Kari McLeesePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Lady of the House
Photo by Alessia Cocconi on Unsplash

You look as though you don't know what to do, Standing bashful in the lusty splendour Of rich coloured silks, breathing perfumed air, Avoiding my gaze and studying the floor. Your eyes are glazed, red-rimmed, a sign that you Have come from somewhere serving something stronger, Which gave you courage to enter this place In search of ways to cease a gnawing hunger. I read your face as you walked through my door, Hat at your breast, a model of drunken Courtesy. I, a Lily in a palace Full of flowers, spread out to be picked by men Who show no love, who do not stop to think That I could have desires, need affection, Only grope with lust-driven hands and lips Touch all but my mouth, craving satisfaction. I wish to know a tender kiss, feel skin That stirs my heart. I'm lost in this erotic Veil, this mask of willing mistress. My soul, Once pure, now beaten, shriveled, burnt charcoal black. I'm no longer fit for heaven, though I pray To the angels each night, asking for mercy, For the strength to carry me through the choking nights, For help to look not with hatred, but pity. You look as though you may be different, But I say the same of most who come. A hope flares inside which no one can quell; A need to be wanted - I always succumb.

Once, I had a love, a man who held me High inside his heart, who gave me dreams and stars To wish upon. A man who thrilled my mind And made me feel. Now nothing but a scar Remains of the great Titan who would protect My honour. All in vain, for see me now, Handing out to anyone with coin What I would have on him freely endowed.

As I take your hand, lead you up old stairs, I'm reminded of the bloom upon his cheek, The sparkle of his eye. You could be his son, Our son, were your manner not so meek, For he was bold, as loud as storming seas, A soul so wild to match my very own. Your hands as soft as his, your fingers strong, And your mouth with a vague hint of the unknown. Walking closely, I feel your hot breath on My neck; a sense of you sniffing my hair, Making my uneasy. Were you not like him I'd leave you now. Yet I turn my key. We're there.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kari McLeese

teacher, wife, mom, bibliophile

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.