Poets logo

The King of Crows (pt.1)

How I met...

By HopePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
source: Google images

I.

Let me tell you how I won

The favor of Crows.

Here's how the story goes--

Some odd, 500 years ago,

I was new.

I was kind.

I loved all birds, especially,

The corvid-like.

I'd say hello, and stare,

I'd slow down & get closer, if I dared.

I'd feed them, share my stories,

Folly.. until an injured wing

bestowed their one and only King

completely grounded!

His subjects all around him, cawing & screeching--

total panicked breathing.

A fox had caught him by the paw,

Hooked and played, like a housecat

for days.

The crows attacked and pecked, to no avail

because the Fox, himself, was a veil!

A trickster who shapeshifts on delight,

I know..

for I've seen this being several times.

Anger, rage, nor fury would hail,

for these beings liked to play.

..

"Fancy a game?"

I bolted over the screams from above & below,

of a thousand, simultaneously,

injured crows.

"What kind of game?"

I've interested the trickster..

Boast and float, clever talk and clever walk--

"Why, whatever you'd like, Good Fox."

The attention turned, the Fox lurched,

King on the ground, eyes on us now--

"How 'bout a chase?"

"Well, that's no fun. That's everyday,

How about a challenge of grit?

I've heard your intelligence,

your sure-footedness..

The people say if you win against the TRICKSTER HIMSELF,

you win the ultimate favor for the end of your days."

..

Of course, this was a lie.

But! Any being boastful

Succumbs to being triumphant.

'If people talk? I'm at large!

My! How popular I are!'

..

"I accept your challenge!

Let's see how the Human opponent manage

against the one, the ONLY,

Trickster savage!!"

Instantly, the Fox transformed,

Also human, once more,

A man of 10-foot, solid stone.

But the eyes, do not lie--

They always reveal what's inside.

"State your claim, worthy maid!"

"I want the King, I want that Raven unharmed."

The Trickster clicked and bellowed,

A laugh so dark,

Had I not been brave, would have stopped my very heart.

"This aviaran waste of space?

Do you like black feathers?

Or simply have horrible taste."

I dare not laugh an offence

In the wake of pride-filled hate.

Rather, I smiled--

"I like feathers of all kinds."

..

Around me, the Trickster paced.

Gears actively ticking in his face,

Mischief grinned, and he spake--

"Fine. In exchange,

I win? You become my Fox-forever Maid.

What do you say?"

Held his forearm out strong,

I clasped it. And replied,

"You're on."

II.

We started a gait like a horse, or a folly might,

pranced with children's eyes,

and began mystical delight--

Both, eager to ignite,

Fire, foremost, disguised,

Magic deep within abides--

Fingertips, alight!

Sunshine, nebula skies!

We light up, all right,

One swing, a kick!

and, SURPRISE!

..

Fire in pride,

Missed the sweetness, I've

never seen a Human spare

Trees, forest, even air,

to show immense? I dared,

Slip a little?

But fair,

A trick is, a trick is!

We play to win--

And so, I jived,

Dodged star-bombed, my right,

I'm dying... but not tonight!

Now, I'm alright.

A fire being from clothed disguise,

All but, until realized,

Equal, and in sight,

A being of my own size--

..

I slashed, rose in might,

Blasted wind, from all sides!

Gusts bring sweet rain, of course,

to pour on steady, then en core!

Welcome, welcome home,

Sweet Trickster, know,

This will end, ultimately,

unknown.

..

"Goddamn, you fucking trick!!"

He snipped and stab,

"It takes one to play one,"

I clapped onto his back,

stepped in smoke,

All-around, the whole forest grows.

Transformed into a speck of flight,

The tiniest of birds,

You couldn't see if you tried.

III.

...

We danced, to and fro,

Me and the Trickster throw

stones, clones, oh no

Trickster, no!

Trickster slow,

There are things, I know

You don't, Mr. Savage, though

You couldn't know

Another Trickster,

Even if she's right before your very nose--

And so, a dance unfolds--

The wit of cunning throw,

Two masked beings dance a dance,

few truly know.

As one goes left,

the other, right,

Somehow, they still met, in spite,

Incognito-bright

into middle sight,

And won a favor only made

By respect breeching--

in that uncanny season,

You seek an equal, and meet

by High Treason.

.

In mortality wind-break seas,

These magical beings danced a hellfire.

Illusion, freeing

Potions, believe it!

As a show goes, ON

Until it's told, and these--

In discussion and convict-list,

Brought out every trick!

Dazzled from the other within,

They enjoyed the game over the win.

For the prospect pill--

In the end,

It's more fun to play

Rather than just playing the game,

For the stake or claim,

and so,

Both gained,

an ally, a friend,

A playmate, of sorts.

Till the indescriminable end,

The yet, final battle to attend,

A truce-- in context,

These two went,

The King of Crows, unharmed.

Dumb grown smart, he wears a much better gaunt,

"I've learned--

Too old to die over wants,

I've learned to bear arms.

In a way, Nature paves,

Bright red, say?

Stay the fuck away."

And so, the Blood Raven was borne, to say

You've bid luck today

And against it, enslaved.

For minds perceive the same--

Non-register miracle-way,

you have what you make,

so what dost thou make?

Tragedy for tragedy sake?

Think...

tank...

think...

tank...

But alas! The Blood Raven's luck runs

Along with the Human Trickster, a conundrum.

Growing bled, and redding still,

It's a race against time, a thrill!

Go through the Fearful Forest.

I warn, it is trained

To spot the darkest, even faint,

And attempts to trap anything in it's wake.

So here, broken regal, take

For what you give, will tenfold,

in trial,

in dire,

be repaid.

(to be continued...)

N.Vs

5.2022

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.