Poets logo

The Journey Of Emotion

Rising from the storm

By Valerie GesslerPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

The darkness began to lift. I could feel it.

Just when the pain was at its worst, the dawn began to break.

I stretched out my sore bones and began to rise from the dismal corner I had been residing in. I was resolved.

I would go and find them, whatever the cost may be.

I would find the missing pieces of my heart.

I opened my door and walked down the quiet streets.

The town was still, not yet awake.

A warm breeze began to blow. I felt it wrap all around me.

I stopped to drink it in.

I felt warm and secure. I felt peace. I had almost forgotten the feeling entirely.

I offered prayers of gratitude as I soaked in the breeze.

Presently, I decided to return home and chase away the remaining darkness.

I walked in and took a moment to overlook the scene.

This house was made for the defeated and prepared for death. This would no longer suit me!

I threw open the curtains and let the light invade.

Watching the sunbeam reach every corner of the room, I squealed with delight!

Laughing as if all the previous hardship had been one big joke, though I would not forget it’s lessons.

The joy was so real, more real then the pain. I began to dance and sing. I danced and laughed, and danced some more.

Soon, I noticed the silhouette of a man. It started to fill and form. As I moved, it came alive!

I was not afraid, I couldn’t be. I knew him. As He had always known me.

At last he was completely here, and we embraced.

The embodiment of love was here!

Gratitude spilled from my eyes in the form of tears.

The final piece of my heart was here. All of my heart was here. Because he is here, was here, and always will be.

My heart is whole.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Valerie Gessler

I’m Valerie Gessler,

I love to write stories that I pray will come alive as you read them. That you can put yourself in the characters place, and feel and experience the same breakthrough. I write from the heart. I hope you enjoy them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.