Poets logo

The Honorable Mentions

Dedicated to the Vocal Family

By Tiffany Gordon Published 3 years ago 1 min read
40
The Honorable Mentions
Photo by Chris Hardy on Unsplash

Recently…

while dashing into the dollar store…

to grab some toiletries and snacks…

***My hair caught up in a messy afro-bun***

***a drab sweater and dorky ankle-length skirt on my person***

I ran across a beautiful…

three-year-old...

towheaded, blue-eyed, cherub of a baby boy…

Who, while standing with his father..

eagerly pointed...

directly at me…

and exclaimed in awe: "DADDY, there's a PRINCESS!"

To my surprise...

he saw regal beauty...

in my simple... unflashy personhood...

I was stunned by his assessment...

For, I had put NO thought into my attire…

Ironically, I had been ill... and in quite a hurry that day…

Yet...he was able to see...past my disheveled outer shell & chocolate-brown hue…

Color never came up…

In his eyes...

I was simply...

a PRINCESS... with her head held high...

Furthermore, this toddler's...

warm declaration...

had me feeling…

like royalty...

better yet...

like an "Honorable Mention" from that day forward…

***Now, My fellow Vocalites***

I MUST take a page…

from that baby boy's magnificent book...

and declare…

that EACH of you are...

"Honorable Mentions" in your own right…

***Simply Because***

You choose to manhandle fear...

while successfully...

pole vaulting...

over writer's doubt each day...

to touch...

the hearts and minds of your readers…

for the better…

And frankly…

These noble attributes make each of you...

"Honorable Mentions" in my best-selling book… :)

inspirational
40

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    And they didn't want a black-ish woman to play Cleopatra. What the heck does it matter, And a child shall lead them. I so love this.

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    One of the most heartwarming poems that you welcome being love sucker-punched by. One of those 'made you feels.' The sweetest.

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    That was just so sweet!! And thoughtful :) Thank you for sharing.

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Aww, that was beautiful!

  • Awww, he's soooo adorable! And you're a Princess living her fairytale! Also, thank you for the honourable mention!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    I love this, and thank you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.