Poets logo

The Hill

Some thoughts that a hill in England inspired.

By Alfie SaundersPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Somewhere I found on a walk.

I could paint pictures of picnics,

Sing songs of ciders, sat serendipitous as the

sets. She melts into the skyline, summoning

her star-crossed lover: the moon.

Like parallel lines, the two will never meet,

Chained to their posts by gods. Or Science.

Yet, countless miles apart, she strokes him,

and he beams with light.

I am just a pinprick on nature's speed bump,

A place that giants once roamed and ruled.

Maybe they still do in their kingdom over the horizon,

but fear and impossibility prevents me from disturbing them.

Now, small men scar it. They stab, and wound, Mother Nature.

They care not - or have forgotten - that she once cradled us.

A tree stands alone beside me - his head hung like a snowdrop.

He cannot escape the image of his dying loved ones.

They have been replaced by impostors, hanged by electrical wires.

If the tree had a choice, he would do the same.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Alfie Saunders

I'm 19, inspired by those that move others with a perfect combination of limited words: I'll try to do the same. I hope you enjoy my writing, and my upcoming year of travelling should allow for some interesting pieces!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.