Poets logo

The Heart of Frankenstein's Monster

A Poem from Its Depths

By E.L. MartinPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
The Heart of Frankenstein's Monster
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Do you know about the calls I made

While your line was busy going on with charade?

Do you know about the tears I cried

After thinking I extended nothing more than a warm invite?

My heart was open, welcoming you in

Longing for more than just your chagrin.

Yet, you never could look past your pride

Of solely what you wanted or set it aside.

What is so wrong about the life I've made

That somehow by my living it you feel so betrayed?

Like Frankenstein's monster, you despise what you created

Thinking that against your very being I retaliated

I am not that monster, though emotional I may be

In truth, all I want is love and peace for you and for me.

No matter my answer, it is still always wrong;

Left to be swept away by a scourging throng

It has taken courage, guidance, and strength

Pondering, searching, and loving at length.

A relationship, however, relies on two persons

And you and I have quite different versions.

Two different directions: I, this way; you, that

Only one of us expects the other to be a doormat

I do not bend, lest I be broken

But, it is not from me that unkind words are spoken.

I have my own bounds, though strict or austere;

Still, in my heart, I hold faith and love dear.

I am not the victim in this tale, you know.

This heart of mine continues to grow.

Maybe one day you will truly find

A light and hope in your presence of mind

No matter how we grow apart

Know that you're forever in my heart.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

E.L. Martin

Powered by Nature, Humanity, Humor, Food, Lifestyle, Fiction, and Culture; Oh, and a questionable amount of coffee.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    WOW. This made me feel so many things - the longing for love to be returned, the frustration, and also the anger. The sadness and the wisdom! Oh my. I resonated a lot with this. This line really moved me, "Pondering, searching, and loving at length." Well done! I subscribed :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.