Poets logo

The Girl You Knew

An Ode to the Heartbreaker

By The Girl in GreyPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
3
Written 5/3/2018

How could I ever turn to tell you it's killing me?

Could never explain little monsters crawling out of the cracks in my chest

All of them born so carefully in the hurt you did not see

Walking on thin straps to the other side, to what should have been the best

Desires overpowered a gleaming friendship, weighing them down to doom

From the first word of the first love letter you ever wrote

Now that love and that pain can only live inside of you

Because Happiness was that sleeping angel of mine that never woke

We watched ourselves fold over into the endless black oceans

Knowing very well the creatures lurking in those waters of ours

The heat from white fires living in our blood-stained potions

Now the feathered hopes I once carried seem fair into far

Why did you do this to me? It dances around all these days

If you loved her, why did you make yourself comfortable in my bed?

If you want to wed your childhood, why did you have me stay?

Ignorant girl failing to confirm in herself that she was the secret instead

Maybe you couldn't see as I could; all the poison we made

Because you were always drowning in your own

If it was my choice, I would watch all our memories sweetly fade

And forget that I ever let you out of the friendzone

Part of my innocence was killed in the sake of that love for you

Just so you could go on like nothing happened and hide the truth

23 years later, and I still sit so neatly in solitude

Now you can watch me as I murder the girl you once knew

Love Always,

Chayle

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

The Girl in Grey

Our life stories are our grandest publications.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.