Poets logo

The Girl I Really Am

The Introverted Truth

By Nailah RobinsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6
The Girl I Really Am
Photo by Amelia Wahyuningtias on Unsplash

I hide myself from this world

I'm really not this girl

The girl that I am has a world built just for her

She'd be crushed under the weight of your judgement, so it's the world she prefers

Only one other person has the key to the door because his friendship somehow makes her feel true

But even he doesn't know her the way I do

She even surprises me sometimes

So how could you possibly know a relationship that's just hers and mine

When she is undressed, I block for her, anybody who tries to take a peek behind the curtain

They see me, they stop searching because they can swear they are certain

But I hide the girl I really am

She trusts me to be this shell of a person you think you know, but it's a sham

Money makes the world go round, so don’t forget to heart this piece, share this piece, and leave a tip to keep it going. I would also appreciate your subscription to my platform. Thanks.

social commentary
6

About the Creator

Nailah Robinson

Author, Mother, Wife, Sister, Daughter, Cousin, Daughter In Law, Sister In Law, Friend, Grand Daughter, Niece, Teacher, and Student. I am so many things to so many people, but in the end, I'm just Nailah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.