Poets logo

The Gift of Life

It's a Blessing

By Maria KalafatisPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Gift of Life
Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

Waking up in the morning brings such delight

Especially when it could be my last

I am forever grateful for every breath I am gifted

The simple act of being alive

Always brings me comfort

My understanding that life is vulnerable

And that it can be taking away in an instant

Has taught me not to take it for granted

Which is why even though I hate mornings

And struggle to wake up every day

The fact that I am still alive

Always makes me happy

Because yesterday could have been my last

Life is an amazing gift

And I purely love it

Life is a privilege

Rather you realise it or not

So, at the end of the day

Even if nothing has gone my way

I can rest happy knowing that I am alive

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Maria Kalafatis

I am a creative writer that loves to write poems and short stories, as well and the ocasonal review on stuff that I love and enjoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.