Poets logo

The Ghost In The Windmill

And the old farmer who lived there

By Chrissy BarnhillPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
The Ghost In The Windmill
Photo by Karsten Würth on Unsplash

It was in them old burial grounds that did me in

People came and dug my spirit up whilst I was sleeping

Now I'm not saying I can see visions or hear people from the past

I'm just some old farmer that knew he wasn't going to last

And though I've seen things you wouldn't believe

I'm still grounded to Earth as an invisible being

I've watched as seasons changed and the trees begin to grow

I've seen babies come alive and I've seen people as they tend to go

I wasn't always up this high you see

At first, I walked among you all so very freely

But then some people started filling up my dead body's hole

With machines big enough to generate new light poles

And now the Earth calls out my name

So I must return to the grave

Of the old farmer who lives in the windmill

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Chrissy Barnhill

Of In @ com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.